Scholarship Program

Student Scholarship Program

Created in 2009, the AIPN Scholarship Program awards well-qualified students in financial need who possess the potential to make a significant contribution to the field of international oil and gas negotiations. Up to 4 scholarships are awarded annually in honor of long-time member and contributor Gordon Barrows. Each scholarship is in the amount of $5,000, split $2,500 for each semester, and paid directly to the winner's university. Scholarship applications are reviewed annually by committee.

Qualified applicants may be working towards an energy, commercial or law degree, but must be attending a university that supports the AIPN by having a professor on AIPN’s Education Advisory Board, which comprise:

Agostinho Neto University (Angola)
Colorado School of Mines
Louisiana State University
Qatar University
Rice University
Rio de Janeiro State University
South Texas College of Law-Houston
Southern Methodist University
Strathmore University
Texas A&M University
Texas Southern University
The IFP School (France)
Tulane Law School
University of Aberdeen
University of Alberta
University of Bedfordshire
University of Calgary
University of Dundee
University of Houston Law Center
University of Marmara
University of Oklahoma
University of Texas at Austin
University of Tokyo, School of Law
University of Tulsa

The following criteria will be used by the Scholarship Committee:

  • Potential to make a significant contribution to the field of international oil and gas negotiations
  • Academic ability
  • Leadership and negotiation ability
  • Year in school
  • Financial need


The 2018-2019 Student Scholarship Program is no longer accepting applications. For more details on the 2019-2020 Student Scholarship Program, please email